Rogha Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy 2008

Printer-friendly version

Rogha Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy 2008

Selected recordings from the Willie Clancy Summer School 2008

Various performers - see below

A Double CD

€16.60 incl delivery within Ireland (North and South)
€18.25 incl. delivery worldwide.


See below for SPECIAL OFFER of 2007 & 2008 CDs - that's 4 Cds in all for just €33.00.

Paypal Ireland: 

BUY now for delivery in IRELAND

Paypal outside Ireland: 

BUY now for delivery WORLDWIDE

Special Offer: 

Special Offer: Purchase this CD together with the Rogha Scoil Samhradh Willie Clancy 2007, Double CD- that's 4 CDs for just €33.00 incl. delivery anywhere 

OaC Ref. No.: 


More Details...


In stock and normally despatched within 24 hours of order.

 NOTE: if you do not wish to use Paypal you may purchase this CD set by sending a EURO cheque to OaC, Spanish Point Rd., Miltown Malbay, Co. Clare, Ireland. Your CD set will be dispatched as soon as the funds have been cleared through our Bank account.

List of Tracks: 


CD 1

1.  Hugh Healy (concertina)               
Sweet Marie (song air), Adam and Eve Slide                                            4:13

2 . Seán Ryan (whistle)
Lament for Staker Wallace (air), Dublin Reel                                            4:32

3.  Cormac Cannon (uilleann pipes)
Collier's Reel, Molly Put the Kettle On,The Hairy Chested Frog (reels)     3:41

4. Geraldine Bradley (song)
AgAn PhobalDé Domhnaigh(At the Church on Sunday)                          4:06

5. Breanndán O'Beaglaoich, Daniel Healy and Bryan O'Leary (accordions)
Kerry polkas                                                                                                 2:48

6.  Gerry O'Connor (fiddle).
Úrchnoc Céin Mhic Cáinte (lament),Sean Nugent s no. 1 and no. 2 (reels)        4:45

7.  June McCormack, Jim Mulvey, Patsy Hanley and John Wynne (flutes)
Last Night's Fun, Captain Kelly's (reels)                                                      2:32

8.  Bobby Gardiner and Aidan Vaughan
Miss McLeod's (reel)                                                                                                           1:34

9.  Michael O'Brien (song)
Lament for Willie Clancy                                                                          4:00

10. Dympna O'Sullivan (concertina)
Princess Nancy, Young Tom Ennis,Paddy McMahon's (jigs)                      3:39

11. Pat Broderick (uilleann pipes)
Taylor's Hornpipe, The Gardenof Daisies (set dance)                              3:13

12. Tony Linnane and Mick Conneely (fiddles)
The Gooseberry Bush, The Chicago (reels)                                               4:14

13. Charlie Harris (accordion)
Ships are Sailing, Sporting Nell (reels)                                                       2:42

14. ConalÓ'Grada (flute)
Lesbia Hath a Beaming Eye (jig)                                                               4:31

15. Máire Ni Chéilleachair (song)
Bean Dubh a' Ghleanna (Dark Woman of the Glen)                                  5:22

16. Martin Dowling (fiddle)
The 4 Provinces (flings), Boys of Ballynahinch,Miss Thornton (reels)      4:34           

17. Mickey Dunne (uilleann pipes)
Colonel Fraser, Bucks ofOranmore (reels)                                                  4:20

 CD 2

1. Máire and Aoife O'Keeffe (fiddles)
Johnny Cope (hornpipe)                                                                              3:53

2.  Hugh Healy (concertina).
The Humours ofEnnistymon, The Larkin the Morning (jigs)                     4:09

3. June McCormack, Jim Mulvey, Patsy Hanley and John Wynne (flutes)
The Creel of Turf, Up Sligo (jigs)                                                               3:14

4. Maitiú O'Casaide (uilleann pipes)
An Buachaillín Buí, Kitty Come DownFrom Limerick (jigs)                      3:31

5.  Fiontán O'Meachair (song)
An Binsín Luachra (The Bunch of Rushes)                                                 5:57

6. Peter Phelan (whistle)
Cape Breton Reels                                                                                    2:55

7. Donie Nolan (accordion)
West Limerick Slides                                                                               2:41

8. Donie Nolan (accordion) and Tommy Browne (dancer)
Blooming Meadows, An Seanduine Dóite (jigs)                                     2:13

9. Vincent Griffin (fiddle)
Sliabh na mBan (air), Dowd's Favourite, Phelim'sFrolic,
McFadden's Favourite (reels)

10. Conal O'Gráda and Rev. Gary Hastings (flutes)
Maurice O'Keeffe s, Johnny Walsh's,Pulling Bracken (polkas)                4:05

11. Jacqueline McCarthy and Tom Carey (concertinas)
The Heathery Breeze, The Copperplate,Miss McLeod's (reels)                 3:56

12. Mickey Dunne (uilleann pipes)
An Ciarraíoch Mallaithe(The Cursed Kerryman - air)                                 3:36

13. Éamon O'Donnchadha (song)
Amhrán Rinn Mhaolle (The Renvyle Song)                                             5:30

14. Michael Tubridy (flute) and Agnes Haak (dancer)
Harvest Home (hornpipe)                                                                        2:04

15. Katie O'Sullivan (concertina)
The Steeplechase, The Lansdowne Lass (reels)                                     2:44

16 Eamon Cotter (flute)
The Golden Keyboard, Ambrose Moloney's, Jackson's (reels)                3:52

17Cór ChúilAodha(choir)
Scoil Barr D'lnse (Barr Duinse School)                                                     5:56

Extract from Sleeve Notes: 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION from the sleevenotes:

These recordings are published by Oidhreacht An Chláir (OaC) with the cooperation of Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy and with the permission of the artists.
The tracks presented here are selected from the full range of events organised over the week-long summer school in July 2008. They were recorded live and, in all cases, the performances were intended for the benefit of the audience present and the performers were not aware of any intention to publish at the time.
During the Willie Clancy Summer School, the number of individual public performances runs to many thousands and it is not possible to include them all on these CDS. The selection of tracks here is based on a variety of factors, often of a technical nature. It should not be seen as being in any way a competitive process nor a reflection on any individual.
The performers on these recordings are amongst the world's finest exponents of the traditional arts. OaC would like to thank them for the generous donation of their performances, without which the recordings could not have been produced.
Tunes are identified where possible. However, alternative titles may apply.
© All rights reserved
OaC are not aware of any copyright on the material on these CDS other than as indicated. If other copyright has been infringed we will be pleased to hear from the holders.

Other Information: 

Published by Oidhreacht an Chlair Teo May2009

Rogha WCSS 2008
Double CD